Month: January 2014

  • Shane & Suzanna : Ruhl's United Methodist Church Wedding

    January 3rd, 2014

    On the coldest day of winter. Shane & Suzanna were married. In the same church that her parents were married in. With family and friends all around they promised forever to each other.

    A beautiful ceremony to start off the new year with! Suzanna comes from a large family of super talented singers, make up artists, and who-knows-what-all-they-can-do.

    Shane's family is much smaller but just as smart and talented. I love weddings that utilize the families' abilities and this sure was one of them.

    Here is their day in all it's wintertime glory =)

    IMG_0004

    Untitled-1

    Suzanna's dress is from Alfred Angelo with alterations to match her bohemian style.

    5K9A4060

    Untitled-5

    5K9A4134

    Untitled-9

    Untitled-8

    Untitled-4

    If ever you need a hairdresser for your wedding day : Suzanna's sister (left) is very good. You may recognize her from other weddings we've done.

    I loved how the sisters were all doing everything. I couldn't keep track of who was doing hair and who was doing make up but i really think

    they can all do any part of it. They were singing and getting ready all morning and we loved being there!

    Also love how the mint and pink go together in this bathroom.

    Untitled-3

    Untitled-2

    Untitled-6

    Untitled-7

    And then she was ready!!

    5K9A4223

    So, a little bit of our story... I wanted an eclectic feel to my wedding, I've always had a sort of bohemian style to my life. I absolutely love stained glass windows and I knew my parents married at a church with one so I checked it out! I absolutely fell in love when I walked into the church. The window was gleaming in the morning light and I was like, this is it! Shane saw it at a later time and loved it as well! it was so cool knowing my parents had married their 30+ years earlier and one month to the day that we got married!! What a heritage of faithfulness, we are so blessed!  We decided to do the reception at the same place, we had incredible friends that just made it happen, it was transformed over night, My friend Linnea, Sister Melissa Stoltzfus,- the florist and my Aunt Becky- reception coordinator  put so much work into it, the reception was just a  lovely winter theme!

    So a little bit about how Shane and I met. We were invited to a mutual friends house for a party. It was January 2 Years ago, another cold winter and snowy night. We both specifically point back  to that night as some head-turning for both of us, but Shane says He noticed me, the summer before at a campfire(to which I don't remember interacting with him) but He says He thought I was way "out-of-his-league"!  back to the night in January, I thought he seemed mystical, and was definitely interested in getting to know this guy, So I went home and fb him. Invited him to hang out with my friends the next weekend, as well as nonchalantly giving him my number in case he got lost getting to the place ;) I was rather bold from my normal personality, but something about this guy made me really want to get to know him, and I'm so glad I took a chance at being bold in that moment!
    We talked alot for the next few months and started dating in May of that same year, We are almost completely opposites, but we loved to talk about everything.. from traveling the world, ministry, history, politics, the bible and we ended up debating.. most of the time :)
    but we usually ended agreeing to disagree.
    Shane proposed July 26, 2013.. I love him so much! He came early to my house, when we were about to leave for a weekend on the lake with some friends. I was so confused because He had told me He had to work late that night, (but He was really waiting for the ring to come in) I figured something was up, He had this look on his face of excitement/ nervousness of course I was like.. ok calm down we're just boating.. but He told me to come with him, that we'd pack up later.. at this point I was pretty much clued in... and getting excited myself. He took me to our favorite park and the gazebo we loved. He wrote me a letter of love and dropped to one knee asking the question. I just looked at him for a while, really taking the moment in! And of course I said YES!! I was so excited to share my news with my family! Only to find out 2 hours later that my Best friend and older sister Carla Also said yes, to the man of her Love the same day! What an incredible day to say the least we had a great weekend on the Lake, Dreaming and planning our weddings together!!
    Planning a wedding over the next five months with Shane doing his final semester of College at Millersville University was not the easiest. Student teaching is very time consuming and stressful!! But Shane was great, He is an incredible student as well as teacher and He carried the load like a champion, as well as supporting me when I needed it most!! He was great at giving his opinion and helping me make the plans! He graduate from Millersville University, Magna Cum Laude, with a  History Major. 2 weeks before our wedding on December 15th 2013. Christmas was a whirlwind and January came with a cold winter blast! but our wedding was incredible, we are so blessed by the family and friends that served at our wedding!  We are happily married and learning all the joys and struggles of marriage. It's awesome!
     Hope this gives you something to work with!
    Suzanna Huyard.
    Thank you Suzanna- that was perfect =)
    5K9A4213
    untitled-1
    5K9A4590
    Untitled-3
    Untitled-5
    Untitled-7
    Untitled-8
    Untitled-9
    Untitled-10
    We took most of the photos inside because of the freezing cold weather.
    We did step out to snap a few here and there ! They were very brave.
    IMG_0265
    Untitled-4
    Untitled-6
    Untitled-2
    5K9A4490
    Untitled-1
    IMG_8113
    Untitled-2
    IMG_8109
    Shane & Suzanna did set up a beautiful first look in the church with the stained glass windows-
    complete with the December birthstone necklace he gave to her as a wedding gift.
    i do love birthstones.
    Untitled-2
    Untitled-1
    Untitled-3
    5K9A4276
    IMG_8045
    Untitled-5
    Untitled-4
    ec.lec.tic : adjective : deriving ideas, style, or taste from a broad and diverse range of sources.
    That is just what she did. Timeless- Suzanna's wedding could have been 20 years ago or 20 years from now and it would have been perfect.
    5K9A4331
    5K9A4314
    Untitled-1
    IMG_8169
    IMG_0171
    Untitled-2
    Untitled-3
    Untitled-5
    Untitled-6
    Untitled-7
    Untitled-8
    Untitled-9
    IMG_8070
    Love the colors on the bridal party.
    5K9A4929
    Untitled-1
    5K9A4937
    Untitled-2
    5K9A4938
    Untitled-3
    5K9A4960
    Untitled-1
    IMG_0516
    IMG_0525
    IMG_8249
    IMG_8200
    IMG_8214
    All the girls in the bridal party were sisters! How fun is that? Notice how many engagement rings there are =)
    5K9A4828
    5K9A4915
    Untitled-2
    Untitled-3
    Untitled-4
    Untitled-5
    Untitled-6
    IMG_8338
    Classic- these kids were awesome.
    Untitled-1
    Untitled-7
    Untitled-8
    Untitled-9
    Untitled-10
    Untitled-11
    Untitled-12
    Untitled-13
    Untitled-14
    Untitled-15
    Untitled-16
    IMG_0616
    IMG_8347
    IMG_8376
    IMG_0642
    5K9A5161
    Untitled-5
    Untitled-4
    Untitled-2
    5K9A5245
    Untitled-1
    Untitled-3
    5K9A5219
    5K9A5276
    Shane singing Jason Mraz "I Won't Give Up"
    5K9A5249
    Untitled-6
    Untitled-7
    And everyone was disappointed that they fed each other cake so nicely.
    IMG_8436
    Shane & Suzanna.
    What a beautiful day.
    Your style really was timeless, Suzanna, and Shane, your happiness was contagious.
    The two of you have a lasting kind of love and we were so honored to participate in your wedding.
    Thank you for having us!
    Thanks to Kathleen and Valerie for being the talented shooters that you are!
    Diane for Di Images
  • Mr & Mrs Stephen Burkholder

    5K9A2426

    December 15, 2013

    Our Wedding Day:

    A day i will never forget. Fun. Exciting. Nerve-wracking =) For sure the strangest time frame of my life thus far. Going from dating to being married. I have a brand new appreciation for Brides. All the hard work- planning-prepping-stressing. It is not for the faint of heart! Neither of us wanted a huge to-do. We wanted simple and warm. We wanted it to be enjoyable for our family and friends. I'm not great with style and fashion and was unsure of  myself. Planning a wedding did not come easy for me so I put total trust in the vendors: seamstress, hairdresser, caterer, my sister,  and ultimately my coordinator and friend, Mary June Miller (whom i just realized i do not have a picture of).  We could never express enough the overwhelming feeling of love and support from everyone. Thank you Thank you Thank you for the part you had to play in our wedding.

    5K9A2509

    Untitled-1

    Untitled-2

    My engagement ring is from The Brickerville Antique Mall- Our rings are from Littman Jewelers.

    My earrings were a birthday/christmas gift from Steve last year and they are my birthstone colors.

    My birthday is a week before Christmas =)

    5K9A2446

    Untitled-3

    Photographers: Di Images Girls : Angie, Silla, and Valerie

    These girls did an amazing job! All photo credits go to them.

    5K9A2691

    Untitled-5

    Untitled-6

    My grandmother's purse.

    IMG_2128

    Hairdresser: Jess from Studio 23

    Jess is my hairdresser and when i first met her she was starting up her own business in New Holland. Her studio is open window on the street side

    allowing tons of natural light to stream through her store front. I loved the open feel it has and knew this would be my first choice as a place to get

    ready and do hair.  Jess wanted to see my dress and know where we were getting married. From that she decided that my style is 'gypsy' and did my hair

    accordingly- using some flowers from the florist to create a 'flower garden' in my hair =)

    ---My friend, Christy brought us the BEST breakfast ever!!!---

    Untitled-7

    Untitled-8

    5K9A2790

    Untitled-2

    Untitled-5

    5K9A2919

    Untitled-1

    My dress: Michelle Horst.

    I knew what i wanted for the skirt and had an idea of the style "something to fit winter time" =)

    I showed her a picture on pinterest and she took it from there. LOVE.

    We were engaged for 2 1/2 months. She liked that i had a deadline to give her and after 3 or 4 visits i had a dress.

    Michelle has an excitement about sewing that made me believe she could do anything!

    IMG_0188

    Untitled-8

    Untitled-3

    IMG_0203

    It snowed the night before our wedding creating the backdrop for a snowy first look.

    I love his outfit - which he chose for himself (Banana Republic/Kenneth Cole)  Steve has a great sense of style and is relaxed in front of the camera -

    I wasn't worried about him looking good =)

    I loved having a first look! It really sets the tone for the rest of the day. We were relaxed and able to spend the entire day together.

    It was freezing so we kept the first look short but it was totally worth it!

    Untitled-1

    IMG_2317

    5K9A2997

    5K9A3005

    Untitled-2

    The Cork Factory Hotel: picture time.

     The Hotel has a warm fire just inside the front door. We were able to use some indoor facilities but because they were cleaning up

    we had to move outdoors after a while. It was nice to be able to go in and out from the cold to the warm and still get those natural light photos.

    My sister's baby Desmond: All dressed up!

    IMG_2777

    Untitled-1

    5K9A3566

    Untitled-3

    My beautiful parents: top left

    and our sharp dressed bridal party bottom.

    Each person was able to choose their own outfit and I love how it all came together.

    IMG_2922

    Untitled-2

    Untitled-1

    IMG_0447

    My husband =)

    Untitled-8

    Untitled-7

    Untitled-4

    I LOVED LOVED LOVED the flowers. Bonita Beachy was the florist. Again, i showed her a photo and explained that my accent

    color was orange and she took it from there. They were just popping with color and i could look at this picture of the flowers  in the snow all day long. Winter

    meets spring in a bouquet! She also dropped off flowers to stick in my hair at the hair salon and then put all the flowers around the cakes and centerpieces at the reception hall.

    I have seen her work all over in many styles and it is always beautiful! i knew she would do a lovely job.

    Untitled-2

    IMG_2547

    Love this artistic shot by Silla. (above)

    Untitled-3

    5K9A3271

    Untitled-6

    5K9A3264

    5K9A3220

    Untitled-5

    My favorite part of the day was how much we laughed!

    It was just what i always dreamed of to be able to spend my wedding day having a great time

    with everyone- being relaxed enough to enjoy every minute.  Steve is really good at making me laugh and forget about how nervous i am =)

    i love him.

    IMG_2666-2

    5K9A3349

    Untitled-7

    Untitled-4

    5K9A3199

    5K9A3503

    Untitled-1

    IMG_2880

    Untitled-2

    5K9A3537

    5K9A3529

    5K9A3658

    My sister made leg warmers for all the little nieces. How cute!!

    She also drew up this chalk board program. Fantastic!

    5K9A3661

    Angie - (head photographer)

    First I have to say I was so honored to be a part of Steve and Diane's wedding day! I have been working with Diane for several years and credit much of what I know about photography to her. So when Diane said she would like for me to be the lead photographer on her big day, I was extremely honored.

    When I arrived at Studio 23 to start taking photos, I noticed right away how relaxed Diane was even though it was only the beginning of the day. I could tell she was so excited her big day had finally come! She was radiant that day! Studio 23 has amazing lighting coming in the front windows, which means getting ready photos and detail photos were easy to capture there. I loved the succulents Diane had requested in her bouquets!

    I was thankful the weather cooperated for us since there had just been a snowstorm the day before the wedding. Diane and Steve were such troopers as we kept taking a few shots, running inside to get warm and then doing the same thing all over again. The outside of The Cork Factory made for a beautiful background for many photos.

    I loved how the ceremony and reception flowed so easily together. Diane wanted to keep things simple, but beautiful. She had planned many lovely details for her guest to enjoy. From the cakes on each guest table, to the potted succulents on the bridal table, to the unique dishes place settings, Diane's touch and style was evident.

    One of the main things I remember as we went through the day was how extremely happy Diane and Steve both were. They couldn't stop laughing and smiling at each other. They had waited so long for this day in their lives and nothing was going to stand in the way of their happiness!

    Diane and Steve, thank you for allowing me to be a part of your big day! I have loved watching the way God brought worked in your lives to bring you where you both are at today. You two were made for each other. I wish you the best as you are beginning your journey of marriage!

    Untitled-1

    We had our guests seated at the table they were to eat at during the ceremony.

    Each table had a cake (Bird in Hand Bake Shop) as a centerpiece / dessert and also holding the table numbers.

    The florist added the flowers to the cakes.

    This also was our unity cake on the bridal table up front.

    We painted terracotta pots to hold plants for the bridal table as well.

    5K9A3677

    Untitled-2

    5K9A3703

    Untitled-3

    My gorgeous, most selfless sister.

    IMG_0652

    Untitled-10

    IMG_3151

    Untitled-7

    Warehouse carts from a bookkeeping client that i once worked for.

    We put the trees and gifts on them and then

    our family used these carts to haul the gifts to the elevator and down to be taken home.

    5K9A3722

    Untitled-9

    IMG_0662

    Untitled-11

    Another favorite was having The Will Stoltz Band. With a southern gospel/country flare- singing love songs and old hymns-

    Everybody loved their sound and it created a great atmosphere.

    Untitled-4

    5K9A3729-2

    I just have to comment on the photo below-

    At the bridal table we used small cacti to put twigs in with name tags (written by rosa of course)

    Gina could not find her name for the longest time.

    Between the photographers and my mom she located her name tag.

    After we had been sitting for about 10 minutes i spotted the pot with her name tag in it.

    Why do you have such a huge plant for your name tag?!!!

    She didn't know.

    But explained to me how the funny thing was that she couldn't seem to find it.

    i laughed and laughed and then made my brother find her a smaller one like the rest of us. =)

    Untitled-5

    5K9A3733

    Untitled-6

    5K9A3747

    5K9A3771

    Untitled-8

    IMG_3311

    Untitled-12

    Caterer: Big John Nolts- Best Food in town- and not super pricey. I would recommend them to anyone!

    We had so many people raving about the food- They have great service and down home cooking.

    Picture below: missing Dawn and Jenny-wish you could have been here =)

    5K9A3813

    5K9A3785

    5K9A3815

    Untitled-13

    Place Settings: My aunts and cousins brought in there very own china and cake plates and helped to set up the tables.

    We were not able to set up until the morning of- ceremony time was 5 PM.

    I trusted my coordinator to know, better than i would, how things should be.

     When i arrived - i couldn't believe how beautiful it was! I loved it!

    The Mulberry Art Studio supplied the flatware the water cups, linens, and tables.

    Chairs from Eagle Rental.

    Berries & wheat were done by the florist.

    We were married by my uncle: Pastor Gerry Stoltzfoos.

    Because he is not from this area (and to keep things simple) we had rehearsal one hour before the wedding started.

    We both loved his message from 'The love chapter' and his format for our marriage vows-

    "In the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit".

    Here is the day in the words of the best coordinator ever:

    THE WEDDING - by Mary Miller (coordinator)

    When Diane asked me if I would be willing to coordinate and help set up her wedding, I

    said “Of course.” I was nervous. I had never done anything like this before. Knowing

    that she would know what she wanted made it feel a lot less overwhelming. I’m not at all

    a ‘party planner’ and trying to organize events makes me hyperventilate just thinking

    about it.

    “We are planning on using the Mulberry Art Studio for both ceremony and reception”,

    she told me. I had never been to the Mulberry Art Studio & had no idea what to expect.

    We met with Paul from there twice before the wedding and he seemed to know what we

    wanted and expected from him. I wasn’t allowed to climb any ladders for liability issues,

    which I understood. There would be quite a bit of work though that needed done on

    ladders, and he assured us that he would be able to handle it on the morning of the

    wedding. Patrick was willing to help me set up the morning of the wedding, so we headed out

    around 6 am to pick up a few things and be at the studio around 7. Arriving at Diane’s

    parents place to pick things up, her Mom greeted us and was very accommodating. She

    told us that they were planning to meet us and help out around 8.

    It was snowy and wintery that day. Perfect day for a winter / Christmas wedding. We

    arrived at the studio and walked up to the room that Diane had rented. We could tell that

    there was going to be a lot of work to do, since there was still decor up from a party the

    evening before. I was glad Diane had asked us to be there at 7. Diane’s family arrived

    about an hour later and I don’t know what I would have done without them. They were

    amazing. Diane’s aunts and a few cousins showed up to set every table. And I would

    drag them into decorating questions if I wanted a second opinion! They know how to

    have fun and laugh. I loved having them there!! There was also Ruth, a friend of

    Diane’s, who came and was willing to help. I asked her to set up details that I knew I

    wasn’t going to be able to get to or that I wasn’t sure how to do. It was starting to feel

    like a real party. I didn’t realize it would be so much fun! I was hoping Diane was feeling

    the same way as she was out getting gorgeous and taking pictures.

    Patrick ran for coffee and donuts, keeping us fueled up! There was another wedding

    that was happening downstairs in the same building and the bride and her maids were

    using the same floor we were on for getting ready. It was a festive atmosphere. Every

    once in a while, Paul and the owner of the studio would mosey in and do some of the

    ‘ladder work’. I wasn’t worried yet, but it felt like the hours were counting down and they

    still had a lot of work to be done. I was so thankful for the 2 times that Diane and I had

    met with them, since I heard a lot of what Diane wanted and could move ahead with

    some of the things on their list. There was art to hang that Diane and Steve had hand

    selected, table cloths to go over the tables in just the right way - with all the stripes

    running north and south, a 15 foot tree to set up and decorate, 4- 18-foot pillars to cover

    with fabric, and so forth. I could do the ones that didn’t require their ladder, so I did.

    Then the caterers arrived and seemed to know exactly what their place was and where

    to go, with only a few questions.

    The same was true with the florist and cake ladies. They worked together nicely and

    decorated gorgeous little cakes for every guest table and also the bridal cake. And with

    every little detail that was being added, I could ‘see’ all the thought that Diane had put

    into this day. She wanted to keep it simple, and I don’t know what I was expecting that

    to look like, but it was turning out so very pretty. And I felt relaxed. I could tell that Diane

    ‘knows’ her friends and family well and knew in what role they excel. She delegated so well.

    The band was no exception - they came in, they set up, and had very few questions.

    It was 3:30 and I knew the bridal party and family would be arriving any minute and

    there still wasn’t a 15 foot tree in the room. I went to look for Paul to make sure he

    hadn’t forgotten. He hadn’t and shortly after that it appeared and the decorating started

    on that. The wedding was supposed to start around 5, but Diane had made it clear that

    it was more important to her that the guests were all seated before it started then that it

    started right at 5. We did a quick little rehearsal and everyone seemed to know when to

    be where so all we had to do was wait for the guests to arrive.

    They did. And there was a steady stream of people finding their tables and visiting with

    those around them. The room was gorgeous. And no one seem to notice the last minute

    decorating happening on the tree, except for me. I was hoping that last ornament would

    find it’s place before 5. It did with 15 minutes to spare.

    It was time for the magic to happen. The pastor, groom, and groomsmen found their

    place. The lovely brides maids were next followed by the beautiful children, who were

    nervous but so excited. The 2 little ring bearers were my favorite. They wanted me to

    check over and over to make sure they had the right ring. But got so confused because

    they had the brides ring but it went to the groom and vice versa. I loved it.

    And then it was time. Time for the doors to swing open. For the gorgeous bride to enter!

    She was glowing and looked so happy!

    The service was short but so meaningful. The evening was perfect. There was a room

    full of people celebrating a couple they loved, surrounded by fun music, delicious food,

    and conversation that wanted to go on late into the night.

    The day was over. It was an amazing day. An amazing couple had become married,

    with those that loved them surrounding them. And the memories of that day will last

    forever. Life is like that. It’s made up of moments stacked up together into hours, days,

    years... And I wish them the best in every moment, day, and year they get to spend

    together!!

    IMG_2966

    IMG_3230

    IMG_2974

    IMG_2996

    IMG_2997

    IMG_3113

    IMG_3274

    To Our God who puts all things together and makes all things whole and makes us into what pleases Him the most.

    All Glory to Jesus forever & always!

    IMG_3285

    We loved our wedding day and we love being married!

    A huge thank you, again, to our vendors. Picking people that we trusted was the number one priority.

    We were not looking for perfection or formal - we were looking for relaxed and simple.

    As a bride, i felt responsible to keep the stress level low for the people around me and for myself.

    It's crazy how many details go into planning a day like this that you cannot think about till you get there!

    -

    I'm so glad to be on the other side of it - feeling smarter and more empathy for the brides i work with.

    It was a big big big day - full of love, laughter, and good food!

    And we wouldn't have it any other way =)

  • Insurance. A bit of business.

    5K9A4029

    A little bit of business talk here this morning.

    Inspiration is Perishable

    "Inspiration is a magical thing, a productivity multiplier, a motivator. But it won't wait for you.

    Inspiration is a now thing. If it grabs you, grab it right back and put it to work." - Rework

    When you think of something that you should do to move your business forward.

    Do not hesitate. Try it. If it doesn't work- you can try something else later.

    Right and wrong decisions are inevitable.

    One day you feel like your getting it all right. The next, all wrong.

    The one decision i will never regret is having insurance for my company.

    You can't know if you will ever need it.

    I questioned it repeatedly. Not any more.

    This past summer our team endured a traumatic event that could have been every photographers worst nightmare.

    It wasn't.

    I choose to omit names for the sole purpose of eliminating shame.

    When a mistake is made in a company- it could be any one of us.

    There is no blame and no name calling- it is simply an accident.

    This incident was so huge and so traumatic that it became #2 in the list of yearly events in 2013.

    #1 was a much more positive thing.

    I think the maturity of a person lies in the ability to list the good with the bad and not be overwhelmed or puffed up by either.

    here goes. it was a huge weekend. we had two weddings lined up. the forecast was beautiful. both would be outdoor events.

    two weddings back to back has its pros and cons. we like to get pumped up and focus on the pros.

    the team i have chosen to work with is an inspiration to me.

    they never complain or question or criticize.

    It is always willing, (hot) 8-10 hours on your feet kind of service -with- a-smile.

    If they didn't know how to snap a photo i would want them by my side if only for moral support.

    If ever i should be ill or hospitalized and unable to attend an event - i would have full confidence in their abilities.

    I diverse. Saturday night we decided to keep one girl late- so the rest of us could head out- and then agreed that the Sunday wedding

    i would stay late and release the other two. The equipment stayed with said person for the night to bring with her the following morning.

    We have done it before.

    Sunday morning in the half hour time slot that she attended church the equipment was taken from her vehicle.

    She arrived at the shoot location unaware that she was without her equipment.

    And from that moment forward - we worked hard to still be the best we could be.

    I made a phone call- She drove to pick up extra gear that matched what was stolen.

    In 45 minutes time we were back to "normal".

    In the meantime and all day- we brainstormed about our situation and pretended to not be stressed out.

    Business as usual.

    I have insurance. I kept saying.

    Hoping against hope it would cover everything.

    All the while dreading the "million" phone calls that would need to be made.

    She- naturally- was dealing with all the emotions and anxiety.

    It was a horrible moment.

    But this is not where the story ends. At all. My insurance came through loud and clear.

    I have what is called a floating business policy.

    It covers anything damaged lost or stolen up to X amount of dollars.

    I set the amount. Pay on it quarterly, monthly, or annually and in this case, because i had to buy the newest, upgraded equipment-

    (they no longer make the only 1 year old model that i owned)

    they covered for my upgrade.

    And if you have bothered to read thus far- i went from a 5DMarkII to a 5DMarkIII-

    all paid by the insurance company. Over 6 grand worth of stuff.

    I wasn't looking to upgrade.

    The first person to hear the good news was her. She needed to be relieved of her stress. It was a fact of life. Not a shame. Not a blame.

    And i wanted her to move past it as fast as she could!

    I can't afford to not have insurance- It's not pricey-It's affordable.

    I can't afford to lose quality second shooters and priceless relationships from my lack of insight.

    It could have been any one of us.

    It could have been me.

    (one time i hung my camera bag on a branch that broke and fell into a steam-just for example)

    I made 5 phone calls.

    Easy peasy.

    Networking took on a brand new meaning for me- I would do it all for someone else if i had the chance.

    Since this incident my team spoke to countless photographers who heard our story and vowed to buy insurance.

    We can't tell you what to do. We can only say what it did for us.

    Diane for Di Images