February 25, 2015

  • How I Organize:

    ONE TIP

    Well it's not easy. Staying organized. In every capacity of life. But i love to give it a try. Remembering always that if i don't spend too much money i will not feel stuck on staying organized in the style or fashion i have chosen thereby giving myself leeway to change my mind and try something else.

     

    So this year i started feeling desperate about my camera bag situation. I had waited long enough and now it was time to make a change.  Kelly Moore has beautiful bags. But, like i said, it felt like too much money with not enough commitment from me to use it for years and years.

    I let it rest for a few days to think about my options.

    I had an idea.

    Its fuzzy now, as to whether i talked it over with someone and the discussion gave me an idea, or if i received an idea from someone else word for word (so sorry if i'm stealing your idea and giving you no credit!! ), OR if i really really really came up with it on my own.

    But you're welcome to steal this idea.

    I went over to B & H Photo Video Online Store- one of my favorite places. And purchased that exact insert. So there, you can see how much i spent. My plan was to buy the insert and then take it with me shopping to find an appropriate bag to fit. I started at Target. And it didn't take me long to find a bag i love. It's so nice. I'm already excited to find the next bag i'm going to use the insert with after this bag wears out. I don't know about you but when i'm out on photo shoots i am plopping my bag all over the place. Hanging it on branches (also did that to a camera once - not a great idea) putting it in the mud... I try to be careful. The point is that my bags go through a lot! If you are shopping for an insert be sure to find one that is deep enough or shallow enough for your needs. Mine is very deep and the sectionals are attached with Velcro and are very movable.

    This is one tip on getting organized. Just one.

    And for a tiny distraction from being organized... i have included some shots of the office. Because it is sparkly clean- (uh, minus the dog hairs that i can never say are exactly completely gone), i have just rearranged it, and it looks really good on account of most of the equipment not being in it! :) So it's not completely real. The dog is real tho. :) Very real.

    I like to keep objects of travel in the house and around me. Reminding me that around the corner of my town is another and another and another and the next country over is waiting to be explored. Also remembering where i've been and how much i loved it. Like dreaming is always an option. To do it again. Or different. But it's out there just waiting. The dream.

    5K9A1793_WEB 5K9A1785_WEB 5K9A1784_WEB 5K9A1780_WEB

    And here is my beautiful bag. It holds a 50 D MarkIII- a laptop- all my batteries and accessories and an extra lens.

    I take it everywhere. My goal this year was to be more versatile with my equipment. To be able to take it anywhere at any time.

    This is perfect for me. XO! -Diane

    5K9A1804_WEB

     

Comments (2)

  • I LOVE your bag. I have rarely spent much money for a bag because I love to change them out once a year or so (until the last three years, when I found a cross body bag I simply adore and cannot bear to be without). But finding one that is awesome enough to hold all your camera equipment and computer too? That is so great. Your office is fabulous too! Loved this post.

    • AHHHHHH. I love when people find simple ways to make something their own. I keep thinking about your post about the marquees.? spelling? ha. I love it. i'm not a diy selfer. at all. but i do buy gifts for the bake shop.. all the wholesale purchasing in the craft department. and i'm toying with the idea of buying one for my wall. It's funny how you think of these things and attach people to them. :) thanks for blogging. i, for just one person, love to hear from you. especially your heart. xo! -Diane

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *