January 30, 2014

  • Shane & Suzanna : Ruhl's United Methodist Church Wedding

    January 3rd, 2014

    On the coldest day of winter. Shane & Suzanna were married. In the same church that her parents were married in. With family and friends all around they promised forever to each other.

    A beautiful ceremony to start off the new year with! Suzanna comes from a large family of super talented singers, make up artists, and who-knows-what-all-they-can-do.

    Shane's family is much smaller but just as smart and talented. I love weddings that utilize the families' abilities and this sure was one of them.

    Here is their day in all it's wintertime glory =)

    IMG_0004

    Untitled-1

    Suzanna's dress is from Alfred Angelo with alterations to match her bohemian style.

    5K9A4060

    Untitled-5

    5K9A4134

    Untitled-9

    Untitled-8

    Untitled-4

    If ever you need a hairdresser for your wedding day : Suzanna's sister (left) is very good. You may recognize her from other weddings we've done.

    I loved how the sisters were all doing everything. I couldn't keep track of who was doing hair and who was doing make up but i really think

    they can all do any part of it. They were singing and getting ready all morning and we loved being there!

    Also love how the mint and pink go together in this bathroom.

    Untitled-3

    Untitled-2

    Untitled-6

    Untitled-7

    And then she was ready!!

    5K9A4223

    So, a little bit of our story... I wanted an eclectic feel to my wedding, I've always had a sort of bohemian style to my life. I absolutely love stained glass windows and I knew my parents married at a church with one so I checked it out! I absolutely fell in love when I walked into the church. The window was gleaming in the morning light and I was like, this is it! Shane saw it at a later time and loved it as well! it was so cool knowing my parents had married their 30+ years earlier and one month to the day that we got married!! What a heritage of faithfulness, we are so blessed!  We decided to do the reception at the same place, we had incredible friends that just made it happen, it was transformed over night, My friend Linnea, Sister Melissa Stoltzfus,- the florist and my Aunt Becky- reception coordinator  put so much work into it, the reception was just a  lovely winter theme!

    So a little bit about how Shane and I met. We were invited to a mutual friends house for a party. It was January 2 Years ago, another cold winter and snowy night. We both specifically point back  to that night as some head-turning for both of us, but Shane says He noticed me, the summer before at a campfire(to which I don't remember interacting with him) but He says He thought I was way "out-of-his-league"!  back to the night in January, I thought he seemed mystical, and was definitely interested in getting to know this guy, So I went home and fb him. Invited him to hang out with my friends the next weekend, as well as nonchalantly giving him my number in case he got lost getting to the place ;) I was rather bold from my normal personality, but something about this guy made me really want to get to know him, and I'm so glad I took a chance at being bold in that moment!
    We talked alot for the next few months and started dating in May of that same year, We are almost completely opposites, but we loved to talk about everything.. from traveling the world, ministry, history, politics, the bible and we ended up debating.. most of the time :)
    but we usually ended agreeing to disagree.
    Shane proposed July 26, 2013.. I love him so much! He came early to my house, when we were about to leave for a weekend on the lake with some friends. I was so confused because He had told me He had to work late that night, (but He was really waiting for the ring to come in) I figured something was up, He had this look on his face of excitement/ nervousness of course I was like.. ok calm down we're just boating.. but He told me to come with him, that we'd pack up later.. at this point I was pretty much clued in... and getting excited myself. He took me to our favorite park and the gazebo we loved. He wrote me a letter of love and dropped to one knee asking the question. I just looked at him for a while, really taking the moment in! And of course I said YES!! I was so excited to share my news with my family! Only to find out 2 hours later that my Best friend and older sister Carla Also said yes, to the man of her Love the same day! What an incredible day to say the least we had a great weekend on the Lake, Dreaming and planning our weddings together!!
    Planning a wedding over the next five months with Shane doing his final semester of College at Millersville University was not the easiest. Student teaching is very time consuming and stressful!! But Shane was great, He is an incredible student as well as teacher and He carried the load like a champion, as well as supporting me when I needed it most!! He was great at giving his opinion and helping me make the plans! He graduate from Millersville University, Magna Cum Laude, with a  History Major. 2 weeks before our wedding on December 15th 2013. Christmas was a whirlwind and January came with a cold winter blast! but our wedding was incredible, we are so blessed by the family and friends that served at our wedding!  We are happily married and learning all the joys and struggles of marriage. It's awesome!
     Hope this gives you something to work with!
    Suzanna Huyard.
    Thank you Suzanna- that was perfect =)
    5K9A4213
    untitled-1
    5K9A4590
    Untitled-3
    Untitled-5
    Untitled-7
    Untitled-8
    Untitled-9
    Untitled-10
    We took most of the photos inside because of the freezing cold weather.
    We did step out to snap a few here and there ! They were very brave.
    IMG_0265
    Untitled-4
    Untitled-6
    Untitled-2
    5K9A4490
    Untitled-1
    IMG_8113
    Untitled-2
    IMG_8109
    Shane & Suzanna did set up a beautiful first look in the church with the stained glass windows-
    complete with the December birthstone necklace he gave to her as a wedding gift.
    i do love birthstones.
    Untitled-2
    Untitled-1
    Untitled-3
    5K9A4276
    IMG_8045
    Untitled-5
    Untitled-4
    ec.lec.tic : adjective : deriving ideas, style, or taste from a broad and diverse range of sources.
    That is just what she did. Timeless- Suzanna's wedding could have been 20 years ago or 20 years from now and it would have been perfect.
    5K9A4331
    5K9A4314
    Untitled-1
    IMG_8169
    IMG_0171
    Untitled-2
    Untitled-3
    Untitled-5
    Untitled-6
    Untitled-7
    Untitled-8
    Untitled-9
    IMG_8070
    Love the colors on the bridal party.
    5K9A4929
    Untitled-1
    5K9A4937
    Untitled-2
    5K9A4938
    Untitled-3
    5K9A4960
    Untitled-1
    IMG_0516
    IMG_0525
    IMG_8249
    IMG_8200
    IMG_8214
    All the girls in the bridal party were sisters! How fun is that? Notice how many engagement rings there are =)
    5K9A4828
    5K9A4915
    Untitled-2
    Untitled-3
    Untitled-4
    Untitled-5
    Untitled-6
    IMG_8338
    Classic- these kids were awesome.
    Untitled-1
    Untitled-7
    Untitled-8
    Untitled-9
    Untitled-10
    Untitled-11
    Untitled-12
    Untitled-13
    Untitled-14
    Untitled-15
    Untitled-16
    IMG_0616
    IMG_8347
    IMG_8376
    IMG_0642
    5K9A5161
    Untitled-5
    Untitled-4
    Untitled-2
    5K9A5245
    Untitled-1
    Untitled-3
    5K9A5219
    5K9A5276
    Shane singing Jason Mraz "I Won't Give Up"
    5K9A5249
    Untitled-6
    Untitled-7
    And everyone was disappointed that they fed each other cake so nicely.
    IMG_8436
    Shane & Suzanna.
    What a beautiful day.
    Your style really was timeless, Suzanna, and Shane, your happiness was contagious.
    The two of you have a lasting kind of love and we were so honored to participate in your wedding.
    Thank you for having us!
    Thanks to Kathleen and Valerie for being the talented shooters that you are!
    Diane for Di Images

Comments (1)

  • This is so lovely,thanks for sharing,I am so happy about this I see your love even in this slide very nice

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *